Agenda and minutes

Special Meeting, Council - Wednesday, 15th December, 2021 11.00 am

Venue: Crewe Lifestyle Centre, Moss Square, Crewe. CW1 2BB

Contact: Rachel Graves  Tel: 01270 686473 Email:

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


Apologies were received from Councillors M Addison, R Bailey, L Braithwaite, P Butterill,  S Handley, G Hayes, A Harewood, M Hunter, L Jeuda, I Macfarlane, B Murphy, J Smith, L Smith and R Vernon.


Declarations of Interest

To provide an opportunity for Members and Officers to declare any disclosable pecuniary and non-pecuniary interests in any item on the agenda.


No declarations of interest were made.


Mayor's Announcements

To receive such announcements as may be made by the Mayor.


The Mayor referred to the recent death of Honorary Alderman Ron Salmon, a former councillor on Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council.  Members stood for a minutes silence in tribute.


Appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Women, Honorary Freemen/ Women and Related Civic Issues pdf icon PDF 75 KB

To consider appointments of Honorary Aldermen/Women and Honorary Freemen/ Women.


Consideration was given to the appointment of past members of the Council as Honorary Aldermen/Women and the appointment of Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic medallists with close links to the Borough of Cheshire East as Honorary Freemen/Women.


It was proposed and seconded and upon the agreement of more than two- thirds of the Councillors present it was :-




1             Recognising the meritorious service to the Cheshire East community over many years, and to implement the resolution of the Constitution Committee held on 21st November 2019, the following former Members of the Council be appointed as Honorary Aldermen/Women of the Borough:

Mrs Rhoda Bailey

Mr Gary Barton

Mr Gordon Baxendale

Mr Derek Bebbington

Mr Harold Davenport

Mrs Hilda Gaddum

Mr Simon McCrory

Mr Jamie Macrae

Mr Rod Menlove

Mrs Gill Merry

Mr Barry Moran

Mr Howard Murray

Mr Michael Parsons

Mr George Walton


2             Recognising their success at the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics and the example that they set to others, the following be appointed as Freemen/Women of the Borough:

Ms Karris Artingstall

Mr Jody Cundy OBE

Mr John Gimson

Mr Stuart Wood


3          That subject to any Coronavirus restrictions the Mayor host a civic reception on or before Mayor Making 2022 to formally make the awards of Honorary Freemen/Women and Aldermen/Women and to award Councillor Barry Burkhill and his Mayoress with medals to mark their period in office.